22107 CVC Understanding Unsafe Lane Change Law
A California driver is required to signal when turning or changing lanes. If blinker is not used or used late, a driver can be pulled over by police and given a 22107 CVC, an unsafe lane change ticket. These tickets cost between $200-$400. Additionally, 1 point is placed on driving record since it is a moving violation. So what exactly is the unsafe lane change law and how do you avoid getting this ticket? Let’s take a look.
UnSafe Lane Change Law Definition
22107 CVC: No person shall turn a vehicle from a direct course or move right or left upon a roadway until such movement can be made with reasonable safety and then only after the giving of an appropriate signal in the manner provided in this chapter in the event any other vehicle may be affected by the movement. (California Law)
Overall the Unsafe Lane Change Means:
1) Drivers can only turn or change lanes if provide the correct signal to move left or right.
2) Drivers should only turn or change lanes when safe to do so from oncoming vehicles or pedestrians.
3) Drivers need to give adequate time for other vehicles to see the signal when turning or changing lanes.
What is a Failure to Signal Ticket?
According to California law, a driver is required to signal 100 feet before their turn. And turn on the blinker for at least 5 seconds before changing or merging lanes on a highway and roads. At any point of not using a signal or late signaling can be cause of being stopped by police and given a ticket.
When Do I Have to Use My Turn Signal?
- Changing lanes
- Merging into a lane
- Turning into a lane from a stop
- Pulling over to the side of the road
- Pulling into traffic from a stop
- Pulling into a driveway.
How Much Does Unsafe Turn or Lane Change Cost?
The average fine for a 22107 CVC ticket is $238. And the ticket adds a DMV point which can increase your insurance rates for the next 3 years. However, this ticket can become even more costly. Being pulled over 22107 CVC can lead to DUI check. Or if an accident occurs, no signal or improper signal means you could be considered at fault.
How to Keep Driving Record Clean
The average drivers pay an extra $160 every year in insurance expenses after receiving a 22107 CVC. For this reason, drive smart and safe by following traffic laws and avoiding distractions such as cell phones, eating, and changing the radio channel.
However, if you find yourself with an Unsafe Lane Change Ticket then let us at TicketBust help you fight your ticket. A traffic ticket such as a 22017 CVC is an easier ticket to challenge because an officer is making a subjective judgement call on whether or not you violated the unsafe lane change law.
Definitely fight this ticket…
- If you feel you did turn or change lanes safely and responsibly considering the current traffic conditions.
- If the officer was at a bad angle to have an accurate view of what happened.
- If stop sign or other signs are obscured or damaged.
How Do I Get a 22107 CVC Ticket Dismissed?
In California, drivers are allowed to fight traffic tickets using Trial by Written Declaration. This is a real trial but in writing instead of in person. At TicketBust, our system has helped thousands of drivers get their 22107 cvc ticket dismissed using this method. If your traffic ticket is dismissed, the point(s) will stay off your driving record which means no insurance rate increase and money refunded. Get started here or give us a call 800-850-8038.