California Seat Belt Law

Understanding the California Seat Belt Law

Understanding the california seat belt law

Understanding the CA Seat Belt Law

Ever heard the phrase “seat belts save lives”? Thousands of accidents occur daily, which is why it is imperative drivers and passengers follow the California seat belt laws. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration states that seat belts reduce serious crash-related injuries and deaths by about half. Although these statistics are real, mistakes happen which is why it’s important to be prepared if that occurs. Let’s review the mandatory seat belt law and the fines that could be associated with a citation.

California Seat Belt Law – Vehicle Code 27315 vc

The California seat belt law requires every vehicle to contain functioning seat belts and every passenger must always wear one.  The seat belt rules in California are outlined in California Vehicle Code 27315 vc and vary depending on your age and/or weight.

Under 8 years old: Children under the age of eight must ride in a child safety seat or booster seat. According to the DMV, children in this category are prohibited from sitting in the front seat unless: seats are not available in the back, rear seats are side facing, rear seats face the back of the motor vehicle, a seat cannot be installed correctly in the back. If you are unsure how to properly secure your federally-approved child passenger restraint system, you may check in with your local CHP to assist you.

Under 2 years of age: Children under two years old must ride in a rear-facing car seat unless they are 40 lbs or over 40 inches in height. Rear facing car seats are not allowed in the front seat if the vehicle is airbag equipped.

*Keep in mind that if a child passenger restraint system was in a car that was in an accident, it is imperative a brand-new seat is purchased for that child. Always ensure the car seat purchased for your child is in its original packaging.

16 and over: are subject to normal California Seat Belt laws.

California Seat Belt Fine

In most cases, people in California wear seat belts. For those that forget or choose not to are subject to getting pulled over and ticketed a fine. Seat belt tickets in California range from $20 dollars to several hundreds of dollars depending on your case and other offenses. A seat belt ticket offense can go on your DMV and insurance records if you are in the wrong. If you just pay the traffic ticket, a point will be added to your driving record and can stay there for 3 more years.

If you have a passenger that is under 18 years of age and not wearing a seat belt, the driver could be cited a passenger seat belt ticket. If you have a passenger that is 18 years of age and older, and you are both not wearing a seat belt, you may both be cited.

It is always important that you check your seat belts to ensure they are in good condition and working properly to avoid any of these citations.

Traffic Ticket for Seat Belt: Actual Costs

As stated above, if you pay the traffic ticket a point will be added to your record and can stay there for 3 more years. Depending on your record and how many points you already have, your insurance may increase and this minimal fine suddenly ends up being $2,700 or more over 3 years. If you have 4 points on your record in 1 year or 6 in 2 years, or 8 in 3 years, the DMV will suspend your driver’s license. If this happens the cost will potentially be quite significant.

The easy solution is to wear a seat belt and follow the seat belt laws. We encourage traffic safety, but the reality is sometimes it happens.

Your time and energy is valuable which is why our experienced team has made it easy for you. Our system has been helping thousands of people fight their tickets with written declaration versus appearing in court. If your written declaration is approved, no points will be added to your driving record, the court will refund your bail payment in full and you never had to step foot in the courtroom. Contact us for more information and to help you get started fighting your traffic ticket today.

Do you want to fight your CA seat belt ticket without risking all of your time and money? Call us today at: (800) 850-8038 and we will help you move on from this experience.