23123 VC – California Vehicle Code 23123
23123 vc – Cell Phone Violation
You’re not alone in receiving a 23123 vc ticket, it’s one of the most common tickets our customers get.
Get the definition & costs below, or give us a call so we can help you beat it — (800) 850-8038.
Definition of California Vehicle Code 23123 vc
California Violation Code 23123; So, you’ve got a red light ticket? Ticketbust can help you fight it.
(a) A person shall not drive a motor vehicle while using a wireless telephone unless that telephone is specifically designed and configured to allow hands-free listening and talking, and is used in that manner while driving.
(b) A violation of this section is an infraction punishable by a base fine of twenty dollars ($20) for a first offense and fifty dollars ($50) for each subsequent offense.
(c) This section does not apply to a person using a wireless telephone for emergency purposes, including, but not limited to, an emergency call to a law enforcement agency, health care provider, fire department, or other emergency services agency or entity.
(d) This section does not apply to an emergency services professional using a wireless telephone while operating an authorized emergency vehicle, as defined in Section 165, in the course and scope of his or her duties.
(e) This section does not apply to a person driving a school bus or transit vehicle that is subject to Section 23125.
(f) This section does not apply to a person while driving a motor vehicle on private property.
(g) This section shall become operative on July 1, 2011.
Cost of California Vehicle Code 23123 vc
Overall, the average fine for a cellphone violation is $162. The estimated total court fine for 23123 vc will vary based on the additional county and city fees added on to the state fine for this ticket.
The actual cost of violation code 23123, cell phone violation, can be much higher than just the court imposed fine for the ticket. If you just pay the traffic ticket, a point will be added to your driving record and can stay there for 3 more years. Think about it, depending on how many points you have on your driving record and who you use for your auto insurance, the true cost of this one traffic ticket on your driving record could end up being $2,700 or more over 3 years.
You may also want to keep in mind that if you have 4 points on your driving record in on year, or 6 points in 2 years, or 8 points in 3 years, the DMV will suspend your driver’s license. If this happens, you can bet it will cost you a lot more in possible lost wages, court fines, and other personal expenses due to the lack of having a valid driver’s licenses.
A Trial by Written Declaration
A trial by written declaration allows you to fight your traffic tickets in writing. According to CVC 40902, the defendant can fight their traffic ticket via mail instead of physically appearing in the court. If ticket is dismissed, it means no points, no fine and no court.
At TicketBust, we make fighting traffic tickets through the trial by written declaration process even easier. Tells us about your ticket and circumstances then our system will build you a written defense that can be sent to court. Our system completes all legal documents in a professional manner for you to make sure that your traffic ticket goes away, and your driving record remains clean. Get started here or give us a call 800-850-8038.