21806 VC – California Vehicle Code 21806
21806 vc – Fail to Yield to Emergency Vehicle
You’re not alone in receiving a 21806 vc ticket, it’s one of the most common tickets our customers get.
Get the definition & costs below, or give us a call so we can help you beat it — (800) 850-8038.
Definition of California Vehicle Code 21806 vc
California Violation Code 21806; So, you’ve got a red light ticket? Ticketbust can help you fight it.
Upon the immediate approach of an authorized emergency vehicle which is sounding a siren and which has at least one lighted lamp exhibiting red light that is visible, under normal atmospheric conditions, from a distance of 1,000 feet to the front of the vehicle, the surrounding traffic shall, except as otherwise directed by a traffic officer, do the following:
- (a)(1) Except as required under paragraph (2), the driver of every other vehicle shall yield the right-of- way and shall
immediately drive to the right-hand edge or curb of the highway, clear of any intersection, and thereupon shall stop and
remain stopped until the authorized emergency vehicle has passed.
(2) A person driving a vehicle in an exclusive or preferential use lane shall exit that lane immediately upon determining that the exit can be accomplished with reasonable safety.
- (b) The operator of every street car shall immediately stop the street car, clear of any intersection, and remain stopped until the authorized emergency vehicle has passed.
- (c) All pedestrians upon the highway shall proceed to the nearest curb or place of safety and remain there until the authorized emergency vehicle has passed.
Cost of California Vehicle Code 21806 vc
The average fine of a failure to yield to emergency vehicle is $490. The estimated total court fine for violation 21806, fail to yield to an emergency vehicle, will vary based on the additional county and city fees added on to the State fine for this ticket.
Keep in mind, the actual cost of violation code 21806, fail to yield to an emergency vehicle, can be much higher than just the court imposed fine for the ticket. If you just pay the traffic ticket, a point will be added to your driving record and can stay there for 3 more years. Think about it, depending on how many points you have on your driving record and who you use for your auto insurance, the true cost of this one traffic ticket on your driving record could end up being $2,700 or more over 3 years.
You may also want to keep in mind that if you have 4 points on your driving record in on year, or 6 points in 2 years, or 8 points in 3 years, the DMV will suspend your driver’s license. If this happens, you can bet it will cost you a lot more in possible lost wages, court fines, and other personal expenses due to the lack of having a valid driver’s licenses.
A Trial by Written Declaration
A trial by written declaration allows you to fight your traffic tickets in writing. According to CVC 40902, the defendant can fight their traffic ticket via mail instead of physically appearing in the court. If ticket is dismissed, it means no points, no fine and no court.
At TicketBust, we make fighting traffic tickets through the trial by written declaration process even easier. Our system completes all legal documents in a professional manner for you to make sure that your traffic ticket goes away, and your driving record remains clean. Get started here or give us a call 800-850-8038.